Let me just say, Goa is a great time. Emma and I just got back from a four-day vacation in India’s smallest state, Goa. It was glorious. I can’t even begin to explain. Since I have papers to write and finals to study for, I’ll let the pictures do the talking. But basically all we did was eat, swim, “tan” (don’t worry Mom I didn’t forget to use sunscreen), drink, and repeat. I tried feni, which is a Goan liquor. I have never had such a strong drink. Each shot is 45% alcohol. Yikes. You can buy beer anywhere and it’s encouraged. Our cab driver actually stopped to find us a bottle opener so we could drink in the car. I’ll spare you the other details. Mom and Dad, I think ignorance is bliss on this one. But it’s a miracle, Emma and I survived.

It wasn’t a very Indian experience but it was a great break to take right before finals. Since it is a very touristy area, I was able to wear shorts for the first time in five months. I felt like I was incredibely exposed. I also saw more white people than I have anywhere else. It was actually shocking. I think I’m going to be freaked out when I get to the London airport. We went parasailing which was amazing and scary. In retrospect, it wasn’t the safest thing. They just kind of pushed us off the boat and let us go. It was exhilarating and the view was beautiful. My favorite beach was Vagator which had cliffs and was less commercial than the others. We visited the Basilica Bom Jesus which is the home of St. Francis Xavier’s relics. We stayed in a great guest house in Anjuna. We also toured a spice plantation in Ponda and ate a great lunch on an leaf.Oh and every restaurant had nutella pancakes. Life doesn’t get better than Goa.

 

