So this weekend I ran a half marathon here in Hyderabad. It was the first marathon ever hosted by the city. The running population is much smaller here than at home. On Saturday, Emma and I went to St. Mary’s College is Yousufguda to pick up my bib. She was very excited to find another St. Mary’s since she goes to St. Mary’s College of Maryland. The bib collection was chaos. The registration form told me that it would from 10am-6pm. Not to my surprise, they didn’t have their stuff together by the time we got there around 11:30. There was no real sort of organization at all. It both frustrates cracks me up. But what can ya do?

When I saw the few girls in line (queue) I wondered if they would run the marathon in their kurtas, or long tunics. To my relief, most of the girl runners wore either spandex pants or shorts. It blows my mind when I see girls at the gym working out with their scarves on. I want to buy them all shorts.

The run was actually very good. The course was filled with hills but it was cool to have a tour of the city that wasn’t from the back of a rickshaw. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to finish but I ended up running a pretty good time. I ran next to some really nice guys. They kept giving me tips and asking me questions. They could not believe that I played ice hockey. That seemed like the most ridiculous thing in the world to them. The entire way they smiled and posed for pictures. Apparently their wishes came true because our photo was published in the Deccan Chronicle, a Hyderabadi newspaper. As if my life isn’t embarrassing enough…

I leave for Chennai and Pondicherry tomorrow night for some time hanging out on the beach, visiting ashrams and staying at an ayurvedic spa. Sometimes India isn’t too hard.

 

